Sunday, July 29, 2007


Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
I was very excited about the release of Simple Mind Condition, despite its hefty price-tag in the US. While I was a little disappointed at first, I soon realized that my expectations were unrealistic (12 years is a long time between albums), and grew to embrace the album for what it is: if not a triumphant return, then at the very least a solid rock album. Manic Frustration (the most downloaded album in G.O.M.E. history) was 16 years ago! A lot can change in that time. The first two tracks here, "Goin' Home" & "Mindbender", will satisfy all Rubin-era TROUBLE fans. Unfortunately they're followed by two boring rockers and an embarrassingly bad ballad. The album does regain its steam with "Trouble Maker" and "Arthur Brown's Whiskey Bar" before falling flat again with the title track. The unexpected piano ballad closer, "The Beginning of Sorrows", is fantastic...even if it makes you wonder how a rock band from Chicago ended up sounding like a cross between BAUHAUS and PORCUPINE TREE. All in all, there are some big winners here, but also some real stinkers. I still recommend it to the G.O.M.E. faithful, though, because you'll want a few of these tracks on your next "BEST OF TROUBLE" mix CD.

1. Goin' Home
2. Mindbender
3. Seven
4. Pictures of Life
5. After the Rain
6. Trouble Maker
7. Arthur Brown's Whiskey Bar
8. Simple Mind Condition
9. Ride in the Sky
10. If I Only Had a Reason
11. The Beginning of Sorrows


1 comment:

Anonymous said...

that trouble announced the release of a new studioalbum 12(!) years after plastic green head was a more than pleasant surprise to every doomhead, and they don`t disappoint. not as strong as skull or manic , but well above the rest - timo