Sunday, April 15, 2007

WARLORD - WARLORD (1974 - 1977)

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
KHANATE a little intense for ya? Well, let's take it back about three decades with WARLORD's sole official release. This band actually received some minor acclaim in their native UK, but didn't accomplish much else. These tracks (including five "live, drug-crazed rehearsal demos") were recorded between '74 and '77, but didn't see the light of day until 2002, compliments of the Audio Archives label. That particular label took it upon itself to market these recordings as "underground doom metal", though compared to bands generally accepted as doom, even the tamer ones (SABBATH, TROUBLE), WARLORD bears a greater similarity to DEEP PURPLE. Regardless, it's an interesting piece of first-generation metal history, and should compliment the G.O.M.E. faithful's collections nicely.

1. Jasmin Queen
2. Explorer
3. Face of the Sun
4. Warlord
5. Lady Killer
6. To the Devil a Daughter

("Live, drug-crazed rehearsal demos")

7. Devil Drink
8. Wild Africa
9. I See the Warlord
10. Face of the Sun
11. The Ring

12. Warlord (pt. II)


No comments: